top of page
Search
  • Sister Meiners

Homeward Bound

Dear Friends and Family,

The mission office forgot to book my shuttle to Calgary this morning.... So....... I might not be coming home tomorrow.

Just kidding, (but really they forgot about me and we waited for an hour...) so we're roadtripping to Calgary with our STLs as we speak. And then I'm off to have my final interview, go to the temple, have a dinner and final devotional, and then get on a plane tomorrow morning.

My wonderful companions over the past 18 months!

I have lots on my mind! Throughout my mission I've seen myself change in a lot of ways. I think that sometimes I felt like Ammon--- I could continue fighting a hard battle and encounter any bad guy and just spiritually annihilate them with my unwavering testimony. Other times I felt like Enos... not feeling so sure about myself, but earnestly praying that my Canadian brothers and sisters would soften their hearts to the gospel. I've felt godly sorrow, and godly joy! Tears of despair, and tears of genuine, meaningful peace and happiness. My momma's advice to me before I left was simple, "Be a part of something bigger than yourself." Shes so wise! I feel like I've been able to do that!

From the homies in Forest Lawn, to the farmers in Taber, to the families in Lethbridge, and the "hatters" of Medicine Hat... I've loved them all! The members, the missionaries, the investigators, and the strangers that stared. They have shaped me into a better person, and more of the daughter God wants me be.

I feel how Alma did when he said..."I know that which the Lord hath commanded me, and I glory in it. I do not glory of myself, but I glory in that which the Lord hath commanded me; yea, and this is my glory, that perhaps I may be an instrument in the hands of God to bring some soul to repentance; and this is my joy." (Alma 29:9)

Like Alma, I dont glory of myself-- I know I'm far from a perfect missionary! But, I've given my mission my all. I've worn holes in my shoes, rode rusty bikes in skirts, and almost froze to death! I know that God sees our efforts and is so grateful for us as we make Him the center of our lives. And in return, He's given me everything. He's given me joy! But most importantly I know that God is real. And he reaches me, and he reaches you. Find him. I love you and the Canadian people all so much!

See you tomorrow!

Love,

Sister Meiners

Final Meme:

When people ask me how I feel about my mission:

"Behold, who can glory too much in the Lord? Yea, who can say too much of his great power, and of his mercy, and of his long-suffering towards the children of men? Behold, I say unto you, I cannot say the smallest part which I feel." (Alma 26:16) #truedat

Pics:

Goodbye to my baby Sis Lett

Bye to Marjorie!!

Bye to our investigator Brandi (@church on sunday! )

Bye to elder herrera *dabs* (been in the samedistrict for 8 months!!)

Last poutine!! #thankyousisterwissler

48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page